Archive Program I

Who: Kneisel Quartet
When: January 28, 1910
Where: The Schubert Club (St. Paul, MN)
What: Mozart, Gliere, Franck, Servais, and Schubert

Mozart: Quartet in B-flat major, K. 458
Gliere: Quartet in A major, Op. 2
     III. Andante con variazioni
Franck: String Quartet in D major
     II. Scherzo: Vivace
Servais: "Fantasie sur deux Airs Russes" Op 13
Schubert: Quartet in D minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden”


Kneisel Quartet

The Kneisel Quartet was formed in 1885 by the principal members of the Boston Symphony. They went on to become the first American professional touring quartet, performing widely across the United States and Europe. The Kneisel established the first annual chamber music series in New York City, gave the world premiere of Dvořák's “American” Quartet and Quintet (as well as the American premiere of Schoenberg’s Verklärte Nacht), and established the Kneisel Hall summer festival in Maine. Although the Quartet’s name comes from first violinist Franz Kneisel, most of the Quartet’s concert programs featured a solo cello section performed by cellist Alwin Schroeder.


The Schubert Club

Established in 1882, The Schubert Club was one of the first arts organizations in America and it continues to present some of the world’s greatest artists in St. Paul, Minnesota, every season. The Miró Quartet appears regularly on The Schubert Club’s “Music in the Park” Series.